Community Coalitions

For several communities in Jefferson County, key leaders have been identified to represent the Healthiest Communities Coalition in their respective cities. Coalition membership includes representatives from local schools, churches, government agencies, businesses, community organizations and interested individuals. All are engaged in a concerted effort to reduce the obesity rate in Jefferson County.

Each coalition is actively developing strategies to implement in their local communities, focusing on the following priorities:

  • Increase access to healthy food options
  • Apply incentives to improve nutrition
  • Institute workplace incentives to reward increased physical activity
  • Educate and inform the public about serving sizes and nutritional content of food options available in public areas
  • Implement comprehensive programs that promote physical activity and nutrition
  • Increase access to opportunities and facilities that promote physical activity

The coalitions’ plans include strategies and tactics that address public policy, the environment and the community, as well as organizational and individual change. Using these strategies is intended to be successful in both prevention and intervention efforts.

Additionally, a team of individuals are participating in a year-long commitment with the Healthy Wisconsin Leadership Institute, which is a program funded through the Medical College of Wisconsin and the UW-Madison School of Public Health. Their participation will help them develop tools and skills for engaging their own community members and build efforts to improve public health.

Interested community members are encouraged to contact a coalition member and discuss ways to participate; most coalitions hold regular monthly meetings.

CONTACTS

CAMBRIDGE Bridgette Hermanson bhermanson@cambridge.k12.wi.us 608-423-8108
Stephanie Nischik stephanie.nischik@forthc.com 920-568-5464

FORT ATKINSON Vicki Wright wright@fortschools.org
Kristin Wallace unitedway@idcnet.com 920-563-8880

FORT
HEALTHCARE
Tiffany Frohmader tiffany.frohmader@forthc.com 920-568-5475
Lesa Radloff lesa.radloff@forthc.com 920-568-5141

JEFFERSON Lynn Zaspel zaspell@jefferson.k12.wi.us 920-723-7749
Karen Woodland karen@fullcirclenutrition.org 608-295-6787

JEFFERSON COUNTY Kathy Cheek kathyc@jeffersoncountywi.gov 920-674-7231

LAKE MILLS Laurel Runte laurel.runte@forthc.com 920-648-8393
Deb van Ommeren rocklakeac@gmail.com 920-674-7231

PALMYRA Kevin Setnes ksetnes@standardprocess.com 262-495-6410
Lee Clay lee.clay@forthc.com

WHITEWATER Richard Jazdzewski jazdzewr@uww.edu 262-472-1305
Brandi Niemeier niemeieb@uww.edu 262-472-1442

 

HELPFUL LINKS:

Creating Healthy Communities Powerpoint (Download PDF)
Fort HealthCare Assesment Matrix for Communities (Download PDF)